HUMANITIES, September/October 2009, Volume 30, Number 5
Courtesy Stan Hywet Hall & Gardens
Stan Hywet (stone quarry in Old English) was built between 1912 and 1915 near Akron, OH, by co-founder of the Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company F. A. Seiberling. It houses many elegant furnishings of the era, including a bronze winged foot, the inspiration for the company’s logo. Stan Hywet Hall & Gardens has received a grant from NEH to assess the preservation of its collection of unique antiques and textiles.