20 Libraries Nationwide Receive NEH Support for Program on 20th-Century American Presidency

WASHINGTON, (July 30, 2001)

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) announced today that 20 libraries nationwide have each received a $1,000 grant to host the multimedia public program "Presidents, Politics and Power."

"At the National Endowment for the Humanities, we support programs that are meaningful, engaging and accessible to all Americans," said NEH Chairman William Ferris. " 'Presidents, Politics and Power' uses a lively mix of high-quality video documentaries and writings by leading scholars to engage the community in an exploration of the American presidency in the 20th century."

The six-week program, scheduled for 2002, will include scholar-led lectures, documentary film screenings, and reading and discussion on six of the most influential 20th-century American presidents: Theodore Roosevelt, Franklin Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Lyndon Johnson, Richard Nixon and Ronald Reagan.

Participants will explore and discuss each presidency with special attention to their foreign and domestic policies, the historical context of their service and their unique governing styles. Materials for discussion feature scholarly articles by historians John Morton Blum, Walter LaFeber and Leon Litwack, and presentations by local scholars. The program features four documentary films made by David Grubin for PBS's "American Experience." The program is the result of a partnership between NEH, National Video Resources, the American Library Association and the Organization of American Historians.

    Tempe, Tempe Public Library
    Contact: Dorothy Stewart, (480) 350-5508
    Berkeley, Institute of Government Studies
    Contact: Terry J. Dean, (510) 643-6429
  • Visalia, College of the Sequoias
    Contact: Nancy Finney, (559) 730-3826
    Falls Village, Housatonic Valley Regional High School
    Contact: Kathleen Mera, (860) 824-5123
    Estero, South County Regional Library
    Contact: Jessica Girlando, (941) 390-3206
    Carrollton, West Georgia Regional Library
    Contact: Martha Goodson, (770) 836-6711
  • Decatur, DeKalb Public Library System/Maud M. Burrus Library
    Contact: Anne J. Johnson, (404) 370-8450
    Galesburg, Galesburg Public Library
    Contact: Amy E. Falasz, (309) 343-4877
    Monroe, Ouachita Parish Public Library
    Contact: Estella Smith, (318) 327-1490
    Lansing, Capital Area District Library
    Contact: Joan C. Smith, (517) 367-6300
  • Ypsilanti, Bruce T. Halle Library
    Contact: Julia K. Nims, (734) 487-0020
    Manalapan, Monmouth County Public Library
    Contact: Flora T. Higgins, (732) 431-7242
    Poughkeepsie, Poughkeepsie Public Library
    Contact: Julie Cohen, (845) 485-3445
    Raleigh, Cameron Village Regional Library
    Contact: Elena Owens, (919) 856-6727
    Fargo, North Dakota State University Library
    Contact: Michael Robinson, (701) 231-1017
  • OHIO
    Toledo, Toledo-Lucas County Library
    Contact: John C. Selzer, (419) 259-5229
    Shanee, Mabee Learning Center
    Contact: Junie Janzen, (405) 878-2255
    University Park, Pennsylvania State University Libraries
    Contact: Helen M. Sheehy, (814) 863-1347
    Fairfax, Fairfax County Public Library
    Contact: Katie Strotman, (703) 324-8333
    Jackson, Teton County Library
    Contact: Kirsten Corbett, (307) 733-2164
Media Contacts:
Office of Communications: (202) 606-8446 | info@neh.gov