Skip to main content

A Conversation with the 2012 National Humanities Medalists

Watch video of a roundtable discussion with ten recipients of the 2012 National Humanities Medals, moderated by Carole Watson, Acting Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Seated left to right are: Edward L. Ayers; Jill Ker Conway; Natalie Zemon Davis; Frank Deford; Robert D. Putnam; Acting NEH Chairman Carole Watson; Marilynne Robinson; Kay Ryan; Robert B. Silvers; Anna Deavere Smith; and Camilo José Vergara.  

The event was recorded July 10, 2013 at the headquarters of the National Endowment for the Humanities in Washington, D.C.