Skip to main content

In the Field

Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities celebrates humanities scholars and organizations at recent awards ceremony

April 17, 2012 | By Federal/State Partnership Staff

The 2012 Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities (LEH) Awards Ceremony took place on March 31st at Houmas House Plantation and Gardens in Darrow, LA. LEH board members, staff, and supporters celebrated the work of this year's awardees to preserve and sustain the state's unparalleled history and culture.

PRIME TIME Family Reading Time also presented their 2011 Awards at this year's LEH ceremony. PRIME TIME awards were given in recognition of successful implementation of the program at new sites across the state. Out of total 54 programs implemented in 2011, 18 were new sites.

LEH also honors individuals and agencies that have made outstanding contributions to the study and understanding of the humanities. This year, the Public Humanities Programming Award was made to Janine Farver and Patricia Putman of the Florida Humanities Council (FHC) for their role in expanding PRIME TIME's nationally. Patricia Putman, Associate Director of FHC said, "On behalf of the Florida Humanities Council and Associate Director Patricia Putman, I would like to thank the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities for this wonderful award. The Florida Humanities Council has been a proud partner of LEH for the past eight years, serving thousands of Floridians in every corner of our state. Not only has PRIME TIME enabled us to expand and enrich our relationship with our state's public libraries, but more importantly, it has provided families with an enriching and rewarding humanities experience and a new found love of reading that they will carry with them throughout their lives."

Congratulations to this year's awardees:

  • Humanist of the Year Dr. Patricia Brady
  • Lifetime Achievement Awardee Glen Pitre
  • Freddi Williams Evans, author of Congo Square: African Roots in New Orleans, the 2012 Humanities Book of the Year
  • Kevin McCaffrey, director of No One Ever Went Hungry, the 2012 Humanities Documentary Film of the Year
  • Neil Johnson, 2012 Michael P. Smith Documentary Photography Awardee
  • The Florida Humanities Council, the 2012 Public Humanities Awardee
  • The Center for Louisiana Studies, 2012 Chair's Award for Institutional Support
  • Dr. Charles Elliot of Southeastern University, Individual Achievement in the Humanities

View photos of the event.