Skip to main content

American Council of Learned Societies and Social Science Research Council: International and Area Studies Postdoctoral Fellowships

Fellowship Programs at Independent Research Institutions

Receipt Deadline: September 26, 2013

The ACLS is a private federation of 71 national scholarly organizations dedicated to the advancement of humanistic scholarship in all fields of learning. The SSRC is an international association devoted to the advancement of interdisciplinary research in the social sciences. Jointly they offer postdoctoral fellowships to encourage humanities research in international and area studies.

Special funding by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the ACLS has been set aside for up to two ACLS/SSRC/NEH International and Area Studies Fellows, to be designated among the successful applicants to the central ACLS Fellowships competition. Scholars who have a Ph.D. or equivalent conferred at least two years before the application deadline, may apply for six- to twelve-month fellowships to pursue research and writing on the societies and cultures of Asia, Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, the Middle East, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union. Completed applications must be submitted through the ACLS Online Fellowship Application system (OFA) at

Host Institutions: American Council of Learned Societies
Location: New York, NY
Point of Contact: American Council of Learned Societies Office of Fellowships and Grants
Phone: (212) 697-1505 x136

About NEH Fellowship Programs at Independent Research Institutions

The National Endowment for the Humanities provides grants to independent centers for advanced study and international research organizations to support fellowship programs for humanities scholars through its Fellowship Programs at Independent Research Institutions (FPIRI). NEH fellowships provide scholars with stipends, a collegial environment, and access to resources that might not be available at their home institutions.

Fellowship programs may be administered by independent centers for advanced study, libraries, and museums in the United States, or American overseas research centers or other organizations that have expertise in promoting research on foreign cultures. The centers and organizations establish their own peer review procedures for the selection of NEH grant recipients and administer the awards. NEH provides funding for humanities fellowships of four to twelve months.

Amount of Award

Amount of the award will vary by the number and length of the fellowships offered by the host institution.


Centers and organizations applying for these grants may not be affiliated with an institution of higher education and must be independently governed, financed, and administered. In addition, they must have a pre-existing fellowship program maintained with non-NEH funding. Eligibility for NEH fellowships at these research institutions is limited to United States citizens and foreign nationals who have been residents in the United States for the three years immediately preceding the application deadline for the grant. NEH research opportunities are intended for persons who have already completed their formal academic training. Consequently, persons seeking support for work in pursuit of a degree are not eligible for NEH fellowships and research grants.

How to Apply

For more information and application instructions, please visit the program website listed above.